Skip to content
August 17, 2010 / Melissa

Adventures: Free yourself by fleeing

Lesson Seven:   A typical response to stress is “flight or fight.”  Sometimes you have to do what is counterintuitive to you to be able to do both and find a healthy balance in addressing the stress.

Fight or flight.  The simplest of biological reactions with an ability to provide so much unwanted complexity in our lives.  Some of us are fighters.  Some of us flee.  I have always been a fighter.  There are often times I want to flee…knowing it would be so much easier to just avoid, not deal and pretend it never happened.  But fleeing doesn’t resolve anything in the long-term.

Yet, there are clearly times in the short-term where fleeing is entirely necessary.  I have been fortunate to be able to “flee” to a variety of fun places this past year, in my efforts to create a new sense of peace and grounding, needed to assist in the long-term goals of fighting against and through stressful situations.

A trip to Boston does that for me.  Sitting on the train with a book takes me into a different world.  I feel so centered, calm, and at peace.  On many levels, it is synonymous with a religious experience.  I feel I am really one with myself.

This year I’ve added Providence (RI), Ithaca (NY), Seneca Falls (NY), Toronto, and Salt Lake City (UT) to my list of centering places.  I have been fortunate to “flee” an area of stress and feel free and capable of  regrouping.  A creative energy transpires, a resurgence in my drive and quest to push forward and move on.

These places don’t need to be hours away.  They can be the park with a beautiful waterfall.  A McDonald’s $1.00 hot fudge topped ice cream cone.  A library.  A coffee shop.  Your chiropractor’s office.

One must discipline herself to be able to “flee” from a stressful situation – a grounding exercise to assist with assuaging the stress – both physically and internally.  It is with the balance of fleeing internally and physically that a fight can be deliberate instead of reactionary, as the “flee” is.  Yet, the “flee,” if done deliberately, can be just as proactive a solution as fighting.  Has my paradox confused you yet?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mary / Aug 18 2010 6:29 PM

    Melissa, thanks for sharing. Looking forward to reading the whole list.

    Mary

  2. Mari-Lyn / Aug 18 2010 11:32 PM

    Our lessons always seem to be something we need to learn or are ready to learn. You made perfect sense, look forward in reading your other lessons.

  3. Gayle Denise Logan / Aug 19 2010 9:09 AM

    Can’t wait for the next one. You are now bookmarked in my blogs.

  4. moose / Aug 20 2010 8:47 PM

    I am anxious to see what lesson 25 is – are these in any priority order

Leave a Reply

